Monday, April 08, 2002


The Pulitzer Prizes are awarded every year to four newspapers; The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post and The Los Angeles Times. No surprise, they all won again this year, with the Times taking the lion's share (7 Pulitzers).

The surprise was what (and who) didn't win. David Maraniss's reporting on the aftershocks of September 11 did not win, even though it was by far the best thing written on the subject. The Wall Street Journal's Enron coverage, which blew the company away, did not win; indeed, it wasn't even a finalist. Hiawatha Bray, the Boston Globe's technology writer, was yet again passed over (I'm not sure he was even nominated by his own paper). One could go on (and on).

But look on the bright side. Gretchen Morgenson won for business reporting. And deservedly so.